Fierce But Gentle Nature

The mountains, the forest, and the sea, render men savage; they develop the fierce, but yet do not destroy the human. ~ Victor Hugo

The Mountains
The Mountains

Outeniqua Mountains found in George, South Africa do look fierce and protective.

The Forest
The Forest

I have mentioned it before that Finland is a land of forests and lakes. Kuopio, Finland is one example of a city with forests that makes for a beautiful landscape all year round.

The Sea
The Sea

Ernest Hemingway’s book, The Old Man and the Sea, comes to mind when I look at this picture. In any case, this is the Baltic Sea route to Copenhagen, Denmark.

I usually depict nature or wilderness as an answer when I seek solitude. This time I tried to capture natural features that make some locations attractive, whilst not forgetting that nature can be cruel as well.

For more on fierce interpretation, please visit Ailsa.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. aj vosse says:

    I love it! You’re mention of The Old Man and the Sea has given me an idea… 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you. Looking forward to hear what you come up with, from the idea. 😊

      1. aj vosse says:

        Will you please slip me your email address? I have a story based on The Old Man… if you want a soft copy before release?? 😉 aj . vosse @ gmail . com! 😀

      2. cocoaupnorth says:

        Done. Looking forward to reading your story. 😊

      3. aj vosse says:

        Thanks! It’s in your inbox!! Hopefully you’ll enjoy it!! 😉

  2. rommel says:

    You left more to think about after the last paragraph. You made Finland interesting.

  3. Zambian Lady says:

    For me, Finland is the most beautiful country in the world especially when you get to know the people. I

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      That is so true, Zambian Lady. Thank you for the visit.

  4. I’m not a nature person per se, but what you wrote about seeking out nature, so true. Actually, that’s one of the things I loved about Helsinki, the city vibe and nature wherever you look.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I’m so glad you could relate to this post. Thank you so much for the visit and reading!

  5. Oh the pleasure’s all mine.

Leave a Reply

