Sport

The score never interested me, only the game.”

~ Mae West

I don’t consider myself a sporty type and yet I’m always on the move, not to keep scores but to marvel at the wonders of nature.

Rowing and Canoeing
Rowing and Canoeing

I cannot begin to tell you how playing in the snow does for my thighs, legs and calves!

Snowshoeing
Snowshoeing

Doing things in extremes is not my goal but with cross country skiing, I can cover distances.

Skiing
Skiing

And my best is hiking. We don’t keep scores out there in the wild, just pitting mind and body against each other. The reward; inexpressible joy.

Hiking
Hiking

 

Hope you enjoy your weekend folks, whatever activities you participate in.

Please visit Ailsa for more sports activities.

 

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    Splendid. So inspiring, Cocoa. Made me want to rush out across the fields at once 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I’m glad this post inspired, Tish! Go enjoy the great outdoors, and thank you for reading. 🙂

      1. Tish Farrell says:

        You actually got me doing lots and lots of gardening today which made me feel remarkably better after having a virus for a couple of days.

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    Wonderful mood in them all… 🙂

  3. diannegray says:

    Loads of walking for me – have a great weekend! 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you so much, Diana. And happy walking 🙂

  4. Well, you look quite sporty to me, Cocoa. 🙂 Love your last image. xx

  5. klara says:

    wonderful! the second shot is so magnificent – that amount of snow ‘vierge’, I don’t think I have ever seen in person.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Many thanks, Klara for your kind comment and visit. 🙂

  6. Suvi says:

    Heheh, that snow photo could’ve been me, although my adventure was on foot not skis. Next time I will wear snowshoes for sure, it should be much easier 🙂 Have a great week!

  7. Ruth2Day says:

    wow, love the photo of you in the snow. amazing place to be

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I realise my previous comment didn’t post – WordPress issues. But thanks a lot for reading, and yes the snow do transform the place into a magical world in winter. 🙂

  8. rommel says:

    It’s like you’ve been playing sports all your life. 🙂 Love the Snowshoeing shot. I don’t know about this year, but this is the only time that I found excitement watching the swimming portion of the Olympics.:) The quote definitely applies.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hi Rommel! I’ve been having WordPress issues, I posted a reply but I see it didn’t succeed. Thanks so much for reading, and hope the Olympics have inspired you. I imagine though, that might be difficult when on travels, exploring the world. 🙂

  9. Love your outlook! After all…even if your not an athlete, life is still a sport! 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you for such a kind comment. And life is indeed, a sport. 🙂

  10. aj vosse says:

    That skiing lot looks dangerous… far, far too cold, wet and strenuous! But… a roaring fire and a glass of good red at the end will be quite the reward! 😀

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Lol…skiing looking dangerous!? Only when in SA, I’d opt for roaring fire and the rest… 🙂

  11. wayward81 says:

    I love it. Made me want to get out of the house and spend some much needed time outside relaxing in nature!

  12. smallfitness says:

    Great way to motivate.

  13. G says:

    Brilliant photo of yourself in the snow with the sun glaring in the background.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks so much. I appreciate your visit to my blog!

Leave a Reply

