Back to the Routine

Routine, routine…what can I say about routine? Some say it’s boring but others argue that it “brings pleasure and a sense of safety”. Well you decide!

My routine is a bit of both, that is, boring and exciting. A sequence of repeated actions almost everyday, for example, a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, staring at blank screen during the day (amongst other things) till I give up and go for walk.

My walking routine is always exciting and full of possibilities. I come back after a walk inspired and finally able to write something on the blank screen, sometimes it’s just nonsense and other times I pat myself on the back.

The neighbourhood
The neighbourhood

Winter has finally set in up here, with double digits at sub-zero. My walking routine stands regardless of the season, and this is what I found yesterday. A pensioner on his daily routine and one of the few people up for ‘small talk’ in this biting weather feeding mallards on his way back from the shops.

Mallards bathing in the cold
Mallards bathing in the cold

With each start of the year, we always hope for the best and this year is no exception. I wish you all my fellow bloggers and readers a fruitful year filled with joy.

Please visit Ailsa and be inspired to get back to the blogging routine:-)

30 Comments Add yours

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hi Thomas! I’m glad you enjoyed my post and many thanks for the reblog. Looking forward to reading your blog soon.

  1. Beautiful photos, Cocoa. How sweet and thoughtful of that pensioner to be feeding the mallards in the freezing cold. 🙂 Happy New Year my friend. xx

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Very thoughtful indeed! Happy New Year to you too my dear friend…xx

  2. aj vosse says:

    Now that’s what I call cold!! I wonder if I’d go walking in that. I’d most likely have another coffee and keep staring at the blank screen!! 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      You know there’s no such thing as bad weather here but how you dress up to survive the cold:-)

  3. The scenery is so pretty and maybe it’s routine but the walking is keeping you healthy! Please think of us in hotter countries that don’t ever see snow during the year!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Sprinkleofhappy for stopping by:-). I’m glad you like the scenery and yes I’ll spare a thought for those experiencing hot summer months, especially farmers dealing with drought.

  4. Zambian Lady says:

    Happy New Year to you, too! I like routine because for me, then I get things done. This is not to say that routine is not boring, though, just helpful.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I agree routine gets things done:)

  5. If you structure your days well, you enjoy the routine, I say! Your walk looks wonderful. I enjoy my walk to work — it may be a repeated activity, but every day brings something new

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      True that! Everyday brings something new.

  6. Mrs Suvi says:

    Routine is comforting if not a little boring as well. I go for a walk everyday, so I guess it’s my routine too. Even if it’s this cold 😛

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Walking is good even if a routine, because you never know what you might discover on the way. The cold shouldn’t be a problem, I’m sure you’ve got all heavy duty clothing:-)

  7. Brrr, looks cold! Here in the middle of South Africa its so hot you cant walk around outdoors!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yeah I heard Spokie that it’s simmering hot down there with no rain in sight. Take care and keep out of the sun:-)

  8. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    I wish you the same love. 🙂

  9. I like the first photo very much; nice response to this challenge.

  10. leannenz says:

    I love the first picture! such a strong leading line, It really draws my eye. Thank you

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you Leanne for the visit and comment. Much appreciated!

  11. diannegray says:

    It sounds like my routine is exactly the same as yours – apart from the weather, it’s very hot here. I went for a walk this morning and forgot to take a bottle of water. Silly me, but it was still a nice (short) walk. Have a wonderful year, Cocoa xxxx

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Dianne:). I hear it’s really hot in Southern Hemisphere. Do take care and don’t forget to take your water bottle along when you go for those inspiring walks. All the best…xx

  12. I am a bit late reading this but it is always nice to stop by here, Cocoa and enjoy your snowy pics. Do you know that you were among the first few bloggers I followed about five years ago!! Nice to know we are still out here blogging!!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Ah thanks Amanda, I’m touched. This is what I love about blogging, meeting (even though not physical) amazing people like you. It is indeed lovely that we are still connecting here in the Blogsphere. The power of internet! Have a splendid week:-)

Leave a Reply

