Luminous

Whilst we wait for snow…

The Snow & Christmas Decorations
The Snow & Christmas Decorations

…and when days are dark

An autumn afternoon by the lake
An autumn afternoon by the lake

every natural glow is a joy.

The Northern Lights
The Northern Lights

I trek distances under the flaming skies

The Flaming Skies
The Flaming Skies

to capture images of the glorious sun as it descends.

The Sun
The Sun

The moonlight a miracle

The Moon
The Moon

as I dream of a long gone sun, near the campfire.

The Campfire
The Campfire

These are effects and moods of late autumn. I’m trying to make the best of the dark season, and hoping for the first snowfall.

For more on the theme, visit Ailsa.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Fantastic and breathtaking images, Cocoa. The Flaming Skies and the Northern Lights are such a gift, and I can tell that you’ve really embraced everything on offer in your chosen country. Thanks for sharing the beauty here. ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks so much AD. I have embraced my second home, indeed…xx

  2. diannegray says:

    These are fantastic pics. I always find photographing the moon quite difficult – you’ve done a great job here ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Dianne, it takes a lot of setting up:-)

  3. aj vosse says:

    You’re lucky to see all of these!! I still have to add the Northern Lights!! A must!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Luck comes with determination, I am an outdoor enthusiast no matter the weather:-). I agree Northern Lights are a must see, my photo doesn’t do them justice – difficult to photograph.

      1. aj vosse says:

        Next winter… I must see them… my determination!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Ruth2Day says:

    stunning photos. so glad you shared them. quite jealous actually!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you. Lovely to see you around:)

  5. Forestwoodfolkart says:

    Gorgeous photos, Cocoa. I imagine they are a great way to look for a lighter side of Autumn. I hope you get snowfall soon.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you:). They do indeed offer a lighter side as we continue to wait for snow at the southern part of the country.

  6. Zambian Lady says:

    Finland, what a beautiful country. You have captured her beauty very well, especially the northern lights. I have visited Finland countless times but never got the opportunity to see the lights.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you Zambian Lady! Finland is really beautiful, and Northern Lights are a must see.

  7. Tokeloshe says:

    Stunning photos, especially the one of the Northern Lights, which we have not captured yet.

  8. Well you certainly nailed this challenge! Gorgeous captures.

  9. Sartenada says:

    Fantastic beautiful photos! My favorite one is the moon photo.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you so much, I appreciate your visit:)

Leave a Reply

