Doorways

“Come in. Come in, my child

We mustn’t lurk on doorways. It’s rude.

One might question your upbringing.”

Mvezo Komkhulu Museum in Umtata
Mvezo Komkhulu Museum in Umtata

Doors and doorways keep opening up,

Inviting me in as I make my way around my home country

on a short visit.

Every home has a door
Every home has a door

As I engross myself in a process of writing a book, I decided to visit my childhood home. It was sold to another owner 28 years ago. I visited last week, and I could still recognize these doorways of the remaining structures.

What remains of my childhood in Engcobo
What remains of my childhood home in Engcobo

It’s good to be home.

Rural home - Port St John's
Rural home – Port St John’s

For more on theme, visit Ailsa

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, nostalgies and interesting.

  2. megtraveling says:

    Great pictures and the doors all seem to have stories!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      True there so many stories hidden behind those doors, and sometimes I wonder what gives me the right to tell them.

  3. Revisiting our past can be a sad and also joyful experience. Love your picture gallery of memories, Cocoa. Good luck with your memoir writing. I’m sure it will be most interesting to write as well as to read. 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yes revisiting the past is filled with mixed emotions, happy and sad memories. It’s tempting to let the sleeping dogs lie but some truths need to be told. Thanks AD for your kind comment.

      1. I’ll most probably be going back to my roots in England some time this year. I’m sure the memories will come flooding back.

      2. cocoaupnorth says:

        Go for it AD. I would love to read them one day:-)

  4. scrapydotwo says:

    Lovely memories and doorways to them

  5. The door is exquisite – and your journey down memory lane poignant.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      True journeying down memory lane somehow gives rise to deep emotions. Thanks Dendy.

  6. footsy2 says:

    I’d love to hear more of your impressions. I haven’t been back in 7 years and then it was a quick visit to attend a wedding.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Oh Footsy thanks for dropping by, I would be posting more in due course:-)

Leave a Reply

