Autumn

She’s been here for a while now

But at least she arrived later than expected.

You see, she has a tendency to overstay her visit

But who can resist her charms.

Maple Trees / Vaahterat

Ours is a love-hate relationship,

It can be difficult to keep up with her mood swings

Some days she’s all sunny and happy

Blessing us with her loveliest smile.

Blackgrouse

Other days she’s dark as a night

Trying even the most enthusiastic,

Rain, sunshine, fog and snow

All compete for the lead role

Foggy day in the city

Days are shorter, nights darker

The wise take advantage of the dark,

Think about things you can do in the dark

Sleep, is what comes to my mind.

Autumn sunset

Autumn allure lies in her ever changing moods,

Glamour from her natural attractiveness

Romance me if you will,

I’ll gladly surrender to your charm.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful images and words, Cocoa. The last scene is really stunning. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks so much AD:-)

  2. Tish Farrell says:

    Yes, wonderful pix and words, Cocoa, and definitely agree with Anotherday about the last one photo.

  3. ledrakenoir says:

    Very well captured and written
    yes no doubt autumn is a she
    all the reason you do mention above
    and we may not forget the charm… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wonderful to see you back, my friend… ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Many thanks my friend. I’m glad you agree that Autumn is a charming she:-)

  4. 68ghia says:

    Each season has it’s own kind of charm. One saddish thing about Africa is that we don’t really have a proper autumn as you do in Europe, but we have other things so it’s OK ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yeah, I never imagined that change of seasons could be so interesting:-). Right now though late autumn darkness is a bit rough, I miss the African sun as always.

      1. 68ghia says:

        The African sun is in short supply these days – just went through yet another rainstorm ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. diannegray says:

    We’re heading into Summer here in Australia, but living in the tropics makes Autumn and Winter my favourite seasons. I love your words and pictures xxxx

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I absolutely envy you with your upcoming summer as it so dark here now. If it could just snow, all will be good:-)

  6. Kanerva says:

    My favourite season! Well done Cocoa, you’ve captured Finnish autumn precisely.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Kanerva. I like autumn as well but darkness right now doesn’t work for me. Anxiously waiting for snow:-)

  7. Tokeloshe says:

    Great photos and words, very well done.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Tok, glad you liked it the post.

  8. Oe – beautifull words. Like your poem.

  9. I love your lyrical words on Autumn, it helps me understand the emotions around Autumn and the onset of winter. Like Diannegray I agree that living in the tropics makes one yearn for the cooler seasons and the variety to the endless interminably hot days without any cloud cover. I think as we get older, we tire of the climate we are most used to, and want a change. This makes it easy to overlook the beauty inherent in each season, but your post highlights the positives in Autumn.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Forestwood. You are absolutely correct, sometimes we do “overlook the beauty inherent in each season”. Autumn here brings about mixed emotions for me, I love the bright and colourful start but by the end (when it’s dark), I feel like staying under the blanket and do absolutely nothing. So, I’m glad you find beauty in autumn post.

      1. Gosh the way you describe autumn and its effect is like the summer here. I have no energy to do anything in the mad heat, and so sit inside and read or blog…..

Leave a Reply

