Connecting & Interacting

 

I have not abandoned my blog, and I’m not going to bore you with the same excuse that I’m busy. Who isn’t busy really? Today as it is my blogging anniversary (thanks to WordPress for the notification) I had to reassess my blogging activities. Why did I start this blog? Have I accomplished what I meant to do with it? The answer is of course, I started as a way keeping in touch with my family and friends, and yes, I’m using it the way I intended to – that’s an accomplishment.

But what took me a while to realise is that blogging is like writing, in fact it is writing. I regard writing a blog post the same as writing a personal essay, even though less formal, it remains truthful. In addition, a post has to be carefully edited and then published. The process would be the same even if I were to tell a story using photos only. What I like about blogging though is that I can write what I want (not offending anyone in the process, of course) and publish it without waiting for someone else to tell me that it’s not good enough for a certain publication.

Images of summer
Images of Summer

 

It has also become obvious during my blogging experience that quality more than quantity is what I admire and enjoy from the blogs I follow. Each and every time after reading these blogs, I always feel that I’ve learned something new or gained a new perspective on something. The quality of posts is something I hope to emulate — well, I’m not trying to make an excuse for not posting for months — and wish to achieve. So in all, I’m still around even though my appearances are less frequent. This is a pace I’m comfortable with at the moment, otherwise blogging would become a chore.

So this day reminds me of another reason I immensely enjoy blogging. Connecting and interacting with other bloggers or writers. The knowledge that behind the avatar, there are real people with their own stories to tell makes it worthwhile. On that note, I sincerely thank you my fellow bloggers, followers, readers and friends for taking interest in my blog, and in turn inviting me to your amazing worlds.

Cheers to blogging!

 

 

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Great to see you pop up again, Cocoa. Congrats on your anniversary. What a lovely, peaceful scene. 😉 xx

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Many thanks AD:). The scene reflects my state of mind at the moment, a good place to be…x

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    Thought you were lost in the finnish forests and had sought refuge in an abandoned woodcutter hut without electricity – best wishes… 😀

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks my friend for best wishes. I’m still around and enjoying the summer activities, including disappearing to the forests (hiking) and listening to the sounds of loons;)

  3. diannegray says:

    Cheers to you too and congratulations on your anniversary 😀

    I also started blogging to keep up with family and friends but I’ve met many wonderful people in the process. Quality v quantity is so important! Blogging shouldn’t be a chore and I occasionally dip out for weeks at a time because I want this to be something I enjoy and not something I ‘have to’ do 😉

    Meeting you through this medium has been an absolute pleasure xxxx

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yeah, I noticed that you started blogging here almost the same time I started. I’ve also met some really amazing people here, and you are one of them:). Thanks my friend and cheers to blogging…x

  4. Madoqua says:

    I enjoyed your post. Blogging should be a pleasurable activity, not a chore – definitely. And I agree, a well written post takes inspiration and time to prepare.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hi Madoqua, lovely to ‘see’ you. Thanks for dropping by and took time to read. Keep well:)

  5. footsy2 says:

    Always happy to see you girl 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hi Footsy, it always feels good to see my blogger friends and catch up on your happenings. I will be visiting your blog to see what you’ve been up to lately:). Hope you are enjoying summer.

  6. Tish Farrell says:

    Nice to hear from you again, Cocoa.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Tish. I hope you are doing well and that you’re still going strong with your writing. I will catch up soon on your blog. Cheers!

  7. Tokeloshe says:

    Happy blogging anniversary! It’s good to have you back 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Tokoloshe. Much appreciated;-)

Leave a Reply

