The Literature and Magazine/Newspaper Editors’ Rant

cocoaupnorth:

I had to reblog this.

Originally posted on Zukiswa Wanner:

I’m tired but I can’t sleep. I’ve been having conversations with the darkie South African literati and I felt I needed to write this. I know it won’t make me popular in the SA hood but, oh well, maybe that’s why I left the hood. So here it is my book-loving white compatriots (and no. This ain’t addressed to you Lauren Beukes, Jassy Mackenzie, Kevin Bloom, Helen Moffett, Tiah Beautement, Margie Orford, Fiona Snyckers, Jo Ann Richards and and and  so step away from the burning building, thank you!), please read carefully. The next three or four columns are addressed to you. The rest are to the rest of you, literati –black and white. So here goes:

Songeziwe Mahlangu. Napo Masheane. Yewande Omotoso. Lesego Rampolokeng. Phillipa Yaa de Villiers. Pumla Gqola. Maxine Case. Thando Mgqolozana. Shafinaaz Hassim. Lebo Mashile. Niq Mhlongo. Cynthia Jele. Sifiso Mzobe. Mary Watson. Angela Makholwa. Siphiwo…

View original 1,048 more words

2 thoughts on “The Literature and Magazine/Newspaper Editors’ Rant

  1. Thanks so much for this reblog and the intro to Zukisa Wanner. What a great rant. I’m sure, though, that African publishing will have its day. It is this belief that has kept me with 2 African publishers for nearly 20 yrs, even though I know they struggle. I think e-publishing may be a way forward tho, now that so many African countries have the internet and cell phone technology. After all actual books are so expensive, and they can get eaten by termites!

Leave a Reply

