Travel Theme: Stone

Well, I couldn’t think of any better way of crawling out from under the stone than to do a post on the stone itself, thanks to Alisa for the inspiration. My stone at the moment is studying, and I can’t tell for sure whether it’s a stumbling block or a stepping stone. Nonetheless, here are some of the stones I wouldn’t mind leaning against.

Golden Gate, Free State
Golden Gate, Free State

You might have to visit in order to see the gate.

Castle Gorge, Magaliesberg
Castle Gorge, Magaliesberg

Again you might not see the castle but after navigating and climbing these stones, you might just feel like a king or queen in your own right.

Dr Robert Broom at Sterkfontein Caves
Dr Robert Broom at Sterkfontein Caves

He’s certainly not looking at the stone but a fossilized skull. And I guess, he would have agreed with the last…

Needle Point, Knysna
Needle Point, Knysna

…that it would be sensible to try climb up the stones than stepping downwards on them.

Each time winter season begins here, I always desire to go south to enjoy the summer weather and certainly hiking, amongst other things.

Enjoy your Sunday folks.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Very well captured
    – and to see you from your “hide under the stone” (studies)… 🙂 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you my friend. Yeah, I’m slowly shifting the stone and coming out:-)

  2. 68ghia says:

    We do indeed have quite spectacular scenery here in the Suck heap!
    What are you studying? And then, hope it goes brilliantly well K – look forward to seeing you at the graduation ceremony 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I agree our Suck heap is spectacular J:-). Mmm…what am I studying? Hamlet and His Problems:-) OK, straight forward answer, English Philology.

      1. 68ghia says:

        Planning on doing anything with it? Or are you, like I’d like to, studying something purely for the knowing?

      2. cocoaupnorth says:

        I’m certainly planning to put it into good use but who knows? I might end up turning patties at McDonalds:-)

      3. 68ghia says:

        You will be a well educated patty turner 😉
        Then again, if it makes you happy, and you can, do it…

  3. adinparadise says:

    Wonderful pics of South African stones. I’ve seen all of these, but I don’t think I have photos of any of them. Hope the studying is going well. Your brain must be quite stuffed full of knowledge by now. 🙂 xx

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you AD. I’m happy that I have them as they are reminder of how beautiful our country is, despite its problems. Yes, my studies have encouraged me to do something I’ve been trying hard to ignore. So, will see where that leads me:-)

  4. footsy2 says:

    Your pix made me long to breathe Free State air 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Me too, I’m a bit homesick.

  5. That is a most beautiful view, Cocoa!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you Hope…*hugs*

  6. Tokeloshe says:

    Well done!
    We miss the Cape the most.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Glad you liked this. I do miss the sunny SA too.

Leave a Reply

