Travel Theme: Mountains

They are the most tallest and magnificent mountains in the Southern Africa. They cover a wide range geographically and as such they go by different names depending on what language you speak or area you live in. They are Drakensberge or Maluti or Iintaba zoKhahlamba or The Drakensberg Mountains.

Drakensberg Mountains
Drakensberg Mountains

It isn’t the mountains ahead to climb that wear you out, it’s the pebble in your shoe โ€“ Muhammad Ali

For more mountains to climb,visitย Ailsa at wheresmybackpack.com

21 Comments Add yours

  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Beautiful view… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. scrapydo says:

    I miss the Drakensberge so much!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Me too, scrapydo. I miss SA in general at this point.

      1. scrapydo says:

        Makes two of us! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Was very near here but so busy trying to see wildlife I skipped the mountains. A reason to return.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Definitely warrants another visit to our beautiful country:-)

  4. diannegray says:

    Absolutely beautiful (and I love that Muhammad Ali quote!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Dianne:-) Isn’t that quote true.

  5. 68ghia says:

    Such beauty in our country…

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Such beauty indeed:-)

  6. footsy2 says:

    The foothills of the ‘Berg was my home for many happy years.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Aah! such a blessing. You must have lovely memories of the place, it’s uniquely beautiful.

  7. I simply adore this country and the Drakensberg are simply magnificent.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I agree, SA is beautiful in so many ways.

  8. This is such a beautiful part of South-Africa!! Feel sad that it has been years since I’ve been there.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      It is beautiful indeed.

  9. Sartenada says:

    I love mountains which can be reached by hiking. The photo of Drakensberg Mountain is great. Hiking in the nature is wonderful. I and my wife we love to hike in Lapland. In my next post next week’s Friday You can see Arctic hills in our Lapland.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you. Yes, hiking is great and is one of our favourite hobbies. We’ve been planning with my husband to go hiking in Lapland, one autumn. I’ll be waiting for your post about hiking in the Arctic for an inspiration:-).

Leave a Reply

