Travel Theme: Sunset

I love seasons here because they are so defined and different. I’m again doing the theme according to seasons.

Autumn

See, what a little bit of sunset can do:-)

The very first sunset I saw in Finland. On my very first trip visiting here to meet my future-in-laws. The weather was dull and grey most of the time and when I saw this sunset, I thought…hey! not too bad I can live here.

Winter

Just stopped by quickly, but going now…

My favourite season here is winter. It might be freezing cold with temperatures dropping as far as −40 °C and sunlight only for about three hoursBut in opinion, it is the most beautiful and magical season of all. With the snow covering and turning almost everything outdoors into a crystal frozen state and then add a sunset into the mix! If I was gifted with painting skills this would be the most inspirational and productive season for me.

Spring

I could be any colour I want,

Lovely orange and red colour formations when the sun sets in spring. There is still snow as you can see from the photo and it’s cold as ever but sunsets like these are so rewarding, when we are out and about snowshoeing.

Summer

Why would I want to disappear?

The photo was taken at 23:01, the sun barely sets in summer here – only for about three hours in our area and it’s up again (opposite of winter). This is as close to sunset as it could be, before it shines bright again. This works well for the plants, they grow like crazy because there’s constant sunlight and then everything slows down again in winter under the snow.

For more on the theme visit, http://wheresmybackpack.com/

24 Comments Add yours

  1. newsofthetimes says:

    Spectacular photos! And thanks for the free visit to Finland!! 🙂

  2. Lynne Ayers says:

    Beautiful shots – I love the north. I used to be afraid to go too far north for fear I’d stay – I wouldn’t want to be that far from family.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you Lynne. I’m honoured that you visited my blog. North is awesome, once you live here you start thinking why everyone else isn’t living here:-)

  3. odilets says:

    Great! It’s awesome that you kept these seasonal photos

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Odilets. I love taking, keeping and looking at photos they bring back lovely memories:-)

      1. odilets says:

        Lovely! It’s a pleasure!

  4. Marianne says:

    WOW! Beautiful seasonal sunsets 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks so much, Marianne:-)

  5. Lisaman says:

    Hey CocoaR…we having a heat wave at the moment…stunning sunny days!! Are you too!!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hei Lis! You are so lucky to still having sunny days. No such luck up here, autumn is creeping in fast even though we still convincing ourselves that it’s warm.
      Enjoy your beautiful weather…x

  6. Ruth2Day says:

    beautiful photos. Spring is really lovely 🙂

  7. 68ghia says:

    I still have to come visit you in winter 😉
    Lovely pics K!!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks J. Great choice, winter is the best season to visit this part of the world. We’ll continue to live in hope that one day you will visit:-)

  8. clever idea for the sunset seasonal montage 🙂

  9. diannegray says:

    Fantastic pics. I love places with actual ‘seasons’. Canberra (where I currently live) has very distinctive seasons, whereas Cairns (where I was living previously) is just hot all year round.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Dianne. Cairns’ seasons sound like South Africa. That’s why I like this distinction here and every season has it’s joys.

  10. carolloethen says:

    They are all beautiful but the spring one is my fav. :}

  11. ailsapm says:

    Really wonderful, cocoa, thanks for the year round tour of Finland. Winter looks fantastic! xxx Ailsa

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Ailsa, and it’s pleasure to take you on the round tour of Finland…x

Leave a Reply

