Travel Theme: Signs

These signs are perfectly understandable until you start analyzing them,

You gotta be kidding…

A sign found on a hiking trail, Foothold, Magasliesberg. Whilst I’m lugging myself and threading carefully up to the top on a chain ladder, I must still be placing falling rocks on a safe place?

Seriously?

Another sign on a hiking trail, Castle Gorge, Magasliesberg. Happily following the trail and then suddenly encounter this sign. A private property in the middle of nowhere.

Bokmakierie / Bushshrike in English

On a hiking trail in Suikerbosrand. This sign seems to imply that if you proceed in either direction and cover the distance indicated you will find these birds waiting for you to photograph them🙂

Need I say more?

A popular spot in downtown Johannesburg for those who thirst to enjoy the beer-making process as well.

The biggest township in SA, with a population of about 1,300,000

Well, if you put poverty and suffering aside, Soweto is a place to love for it’s vibrant, colourful and upbeat lifestyle

Rather interesting…

A sign found at a cultural tourist village, Lesedi. Do you have the same opinion? What are your thoughts?

For more on the theme visit,  http://wheresmybackpack.com/

20 Comments Add yours

  1. gingerbreadcafe says:

    I like the proverb.

  2. adinparadise says:

    Very interesting signs, cocoa. Love that last one. It’s very true. I had a chuckle about the Bokmakierie waiting at the end of both roads. 😀

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      It would be lovely to really find these birds waiting:-). Thanks AD…x

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    love all these though some are puzzling – I love that last one – what a great quote

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Jo. Enjoy your day:-)

  4. All great signs! I love the one pointing 2 ways to the birds!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yep! I must say the bird one is rather puzzling:-). Thanks for stopping by TRS. Enjoy what is left of the weekend.

  5. Myra GB says:

    Oh wow, world of beer. Wonder how that looks like. 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      It is more of a museum showcasing the history of South African beer. They conduct tours showing how beer is made from the plant, barley up to the final product and after that you are rewarded with a nicely chilled glass of beer of your choice:-)

  6. Lisaman says:

    I could spend ages on my trails replacing loose rocks…I wouldn’t get anywhere!!! hahahaha

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      A BIG thanks Emma:-). Much appreciated.

  7. ailsapm says:

    Love this, cocoaupnorth, that proverb is beautiful, I love the Bokmakierie and the loose rocks too, hee hee. xxx Ailsa

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hei Ailsa, sorry I’ve been bit a scarce from the blogs. Glad you enjoyed the post:-). I really like your themes, they give me something to blog about. Looking forward to the next. Keep well…x

  8. aj vosse says:

    Did you take your culture with you when you moved north? We brought some with us… like yesterday when we braaied!! (In a braai made from a 44 gallon drum just like back in SA!!) 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Oh yes, certainly my culture is tagging along with me:-). We really make the best of the short summer here by grilling (as they call braai here) outdoors.

      1. aj vosse says:

        The weather doesn’t scare me… I’ve even braaied on the snow but I’m sure it gets a lot colder up there where you are!! 😉

Leave a Reply

