Travel Theme: Flowers

http://wheresmybackpack.com/

I love all flowers but I have a few favourites, such as the red roses, lilies (arum & stargazer) and tulips. I have marvelled throughout our travels at the beauty of flowers all over – flower shows, parks, botanical gardens and even in the wild. The pleasure of strolling in manicured botanical gardens or parks with glorious flowers that come in all shapes and colours is always breathtaking. I was even amazed at how the French dress up just to go for a stroll in these gardens:-).

Jardin Botanique de Lyon

Nowadays, I just love the simplicity of wild flowers growing more like weed

This of course, has to do with the fact that we keep our garden that way

It’s wild with different flowers, and some I don’t even know their names

Some were planted years ago by my husband’s grandmother and they keep growing back year after year 

The garden is low maintenance and suits our lifestyle perfectly well

Then there are plants and herbs that bring their own share of flowers:

Coriander
Dill
Strawberry

So, these are not exactly flowers I’ve seen when travelling but some that we have at home. 

 

A simple bouquet of daisies from the fields
28 Comments Add yours

  1. adinparadise says:

    I also think that wild flowers are very pretty, and never consider them as weeds. Your garden looks absolutely wonderful.

  2. I love your garden too Cocoa…its looks really beautiful.
    *hugs*

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Aah! you’re so kind. Thanks Hope…*hugs*

  3. Ruth2Day says:

    what a wonderful garden, you are very lucky 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Ruth, I appreciate it more so that I don’t have to mow it:-)

  4. Amy says:

    Beautiful garden! Thanks for sharing!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you Amy. Much appreciated.

  5. Beautiful flowers! Such a beautiful garden! I love it, it looks so peaceful.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks ATB (that’s my shortening of your name:-). It is really peaceful but also attracts all sorts, i.e. insects, birds which at this time can be troublesome – eating the strawberries:-)

  6. Thanks for the trip through your garden! It’s home to you, but a travelogue for us!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Wow! thank you for the lovely complement. Much appreciated:-)

  7. Northern Narratives says:

    I love your bouquet of flowers 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks NN. It’s one of the joys of summer to able to pick up flowers from the fields:-)

  8. Lisaman says:

    What a stunning beautiful garden…Hope you are well…hugs!!!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Lis. I’m doing well and have been kept busy with summer events in our area:-)

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Footsy. Wishing you a greak week ahead.

  9. Shaanthz says:

    Love your garden and the pretty flowers.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thank you Shaanthz. The flowers are pretty at this time of year, which is a joy to have as the summer is really short here. Soon it will be snow, snow, snow:-)

  10. diannegray says:

    Lovely flowers! Wish my garden looked at bright 🙂
    Beautiful pics!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Dianne. We really enjoy this brightness in our short-lived summer. Soon summer will be over and then we have dark, grey skies, cold and snow, snow, snow. So in summer every living creature seems to be saying, “look at me, I’m here” 🙂

  11. Beautiful choices! Some really striking flowers! Thank you for sharing!

  12. ailsapm says:

    How wonderful, I must admit I have a soft spot for wildflowers, there’s something so pure about their beauty. Lovely post xxx

  13. fgassette says:

    Your flower photos are beautiful. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks to you too. Stay Blessed!

Leave a Reply

