Poland Highlight

Before I continue with Czech‘s adventures, I’d like to talk about what we took with us from Poland:

 

What made the most impression on us was really the down-to-earth and friendly people of Poland, who went out of their way to help a stranger (this is not very common in Europe). They are certainly not reserved nor shy either. Even though some don’t speak much English, they are social, engaging and not afraid to stare either. The staring made me realize that I’ve seen very, very few people with the same colour skin as mine the whole time we there. I guess there is not much immigration from African countries to this part of the world.

 

If an opportunity for a holiday in Poland would present itself again, we’ll certainly grab it. It was lovely and there is so much to see and experience, we just scratched the surface. We didn’t have enough time to visit places of importance, e.g. national heritage sites, etc. I would love to explore that next time.

 

I must add though that the trains were a downside. I’m not talking time-tables now but their conditions – old and not well maintained. That part needs lots of improvement. 

 

But certainly Poland is worth your visit. In my experience of other European countries, people tend to be distant and not friendly unless they know you, of course. My theory is – people in the developing countries tend to be more friendlier than those in the so-called rich countries …I stand to be corrected!

 

 

Thank you Poland – Dziękuję Polska! 

 

 

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Ruth2Day says:

    how lovely to hear you met people who in general are so nice. 🙂 such a rare quality in people these days

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      It is indeed a rare quality, that’s why we appreciate it so much.

  2. optie says:

    It’s great to hear that Polish people are friendly, that’s another reason to try and visit the country.

  3. adinparadise says:

    I’ve never thought of going to Poland, but you make it sound really nice, Cocoa.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I say try it, you’ll be nicely surprised:-)

  4. Oh I can totally imagine the staring 🙂 very common in these countries, less in Czech as it gets more international these days.

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yes it is certainly less in Czech:-)

  5. Lisaman says:

    Would love to visit Poland..They seem to have quite a strong culture as well!!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Hei Lisa! I’m surprise that you have been to Poland on all travels you have done. It’s really awesome, it’s a got a lot to offer. I know people who go on holidays there every year:-)

Leave a Reply

