Travel Theme: Tradition

Wheresmybackpack theme: Travel Tradition

http://wheresmybackpack.com/

One of the traditions in rural South Africa is the sharing or offering of home-brewed African beer (umqombothi) when visiting someone’s home. 

 

It is considered rude to refuse it or spit it after tasting, if you don’t happen to like it. If you are not sure about tasting it, you can simply touch  the container (ingqayi) with your lips without drinking the contents. 

Basotho men with African beer


14 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice one Cocoa.
    *hugs*

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Hope…*hugs*

  2. footsy2 says:

    I could never stand the sour smell of the stuff 🙂

  3. adinparadise says:

    I think I would just hold my breath and touch the container to my lips. 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      That’s the way to go:-)

  4. Ruth2Day says:

    I’m with AD on this one! 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      :-), I understand.

  5. fgassette says:

    I’m for just touching my lips to container. Beautiful photo.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      That’s the safest way, though it doesn’t taste that bad – a bit sour perhaps:-)

  6. Love that hats, one looks like a lampshade I used to have………

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yeah! those hats are part of their traditional outfits. Thanks for the visit:-)

  7. ailsapm says:

    What a great shot, they look so regal.

  8. autumninbruges says:

    Amazing picture! I love it.. don’t know about the beer though 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks so much. Beer, not too bad:-)

Leave a Reply

