Let’s talk travel

Travel is one of the things I love. If I’m not travelling, I am mostly thinking about it, hoping for it, planning the next trip or reliving my travel memories. Relive in this instance, means experience again often in imaginationSo, allow me to relive my not so long ago travel experiences (last summer) with you. I’m hoping to read about your travel memories as well, the fun, the peculiar, the frustrating, the educational, etc.

Let me just say this, “I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.” – Susan Sontag

pic. courtesy of Google: Everywhere

Spring season is normally the busiest with the planting, restoring and revamping stuff around the property on top of work and study commitments we haveBut the best part after all that hardwork is the holiday prize.

So, we took a short break (about 3 weeks) travelling around Europe. Starting on the Eastern side where summer starts sooner compared to here, then worked our way back home up the West.

This was an adventure trip for me, as I’ve never backpacked before. I’m the kind of the girl who used to pack stilettos along just in case. Frankly, I thought this stuff is done by young students. Anyway, it sounded even more daunting when hubby told me all we needed were ferry and train tickets (we used InterRail) and if we find a place interesting enough we will spend some time there. This also meant we couldn’t book anything ahead, only made arrangements with friends we were visiting along the way.

Gosh! this was hectic – I am a list freak. I’ve got ‘to-do’ lists going all the time, planning  and organising is what I do best. But for the first time, I thought oh well, why not?

 

Helsinki surroundings

Helsinki was our departure point. The weather for a change was sunny, warm and beautiful with a bit of cool breeze as we make our way to the harbour

 

Departure point

Easy and quick process at check-in, the ferry is big with some nice facilities on board – restaurants, bars, lounges, gym, etc and to top it all…sauna. What a pleasure! 

The sitting arrangement is cosy and roomy, no not cabins – we did not book one.

We are sharing this space with a group of Polish bikers who seem to be used to this way of travel and soon help us allocate lockers to put our luggages. We notice that they’ve brought their own food and drinks (beers) along, surely a huge saving on ferry facilities costs. We could do this as well next time or maybe not, it could be too much hassle...making mental note!

Enjoyed drinks on the deck after having settled in and engaged in my favourite past-time, i.e. people-watching. I tried to figure out languages that were spoken, but of course some are much easier to identify, e.g. vodka, no…err I mean Russian. Luckily, the ferry seems to be popular to mature travelers (lots of pensioners), so it’s jovial but not reckless partying.

Till next time…

In the meantime though, I would love to hear what is your favourite past-time when travelling?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. cocoaupnorth says:

    Mental note, to preview fonts before publishing:-)

  2. adinparadise says:

    Lots to observe on a ferry crossing, cocoa, but I usually sit and read or stare out of the window. I’ve never done backpacking, but really admire people who can travel with so little luggage. 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yep! staring out of the window is also another thing to do and dream about the destination ahead:-). Since I started backpacking, I’ve realised that I need much less than I normally would take along – not easy at first.

  3. footsy2 says:

    This is fun 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying this footsy:-)

  4. Ruth2Day says:

    not done the backpacking trip before, kind of scared of roughing it these days. I’m not a good traveler finding the flying and driving quite daunting. looking forward to hearing your next stages

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Backpacking is fun, I’ve gotten to like a lot. But yes there are other times I want to drag along my cute suitcase on wheels and be served champagne in the plane:-).

Leave a Reply

