Travel Theme: Food

Wheresmybackpack theme: Travel Food

http://wheresmybackpack.com/

Travelling goes hand in hand with trying and experiencing local cuisines. I am an adventurous eater, I will try almost anything but I do have limits. So, it was a bit difficult to choose what to post for the theme as I really love good food. I decided to stay with the local (Finnish) cuisine – fish as the main ingredient in this case.

Kirjolohi / Salmon trout

From time to time in our region there are courses organised and presented to help rural women with entrepreneural skills, nature management, rural tourism, amongst other things. But those that appeal most to me are always about food. 

One of the courses I‘ve enjoyed was a fish cooking class. So, why would I need a lesson in cooking fish? Well, I am not chef by profession but I can say I cook pretty well. For me it’s always about networking and stretching my Finnish language skills. 

Salmon trout – fresh & ready to be transformed into a delicious dish

The course turned out to be very informative and fun with only emäntää in attendance. Emäntä is an old inclusive word used to refer to a farmer’s wife, housewife, wife or a woman in charge of a place or event. We learnt about the nutritional values of different fish, how to spot and buy fresh fish, how to handle them, what tools to use.

Vendace fish

Preparing and cooking some dishes and eventually indulging ourselves. The recipes included soups, salads, pies, dumplings, different baked dishes, etc.

Pike fish balls
Salmon & mushroom pie

For interest sake, fish species found in this region are Baltic Herring, Sprattus, Perch, Pike Perch, Pike, Burbot, Vendace, Whitefish, Salmon, Trout, Rainbow Trout, Artic Char, Bream, Lamprey, Turbot and many others. 

Fish Soups
Salads

When I eat out I always skip the starters making room for dessert to satisfy my sweet tooth. Hämmästyshuttu (hämmästys meaning surprise or amazement, huttu being an ancient word meaning porridge) was the dessert of the day and it went well with the fish dishes. How’s that for a dessert name? Well, you can surprise and enjoy it yourself. The recipe can be found on the link, http://ammattilaiset.valio.fi/portal/page/portal/ammattilaiset/foodservice/ruokaohjeet/ruokaohje/tulostus?recipeId=4647

which you can translate into English or any other language by using google translate or any other translating tool. It is really good and easy to make too.

Hämmästyshuttu
14 Comments Add yours

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Thanks Scrapydo:-)

  1. Ruth2Day says:

    the salmon trout looks divine – one of my absolute favourites. Not sure about Hammastyshuttu though!!!!

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Salmon trout is my favourite too and it’s also very reasonable priced from the shops as well.
      Hämmästyshuttu is delicious. If you love berries, you love it:-)

  2. adinparadise says:

    I love salmon, and that salmon and mushroom pie looks divine. Did you eat all the missing pieces? Just joking. 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I could have eaten just that salmon pie alone, it was so divine but there were so many other dishes to taste:-)

  3. ailsapm says:

    Nomnomnom that salmon mushroom pie looks amazing – and popular, judging by the number of pieces eaten! Must try Hämmästyshuttu, looks delish! 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      I agree, you should try the dessert and see how amazed you will be:-)

      1. ailsapm says:

        I shall have to, I love berries!

  4. sweet fishing lure, love rainbow trout 🙂

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      Yep! it’s even sweeter when you enjoy fishing and then you are rewarded with it, than buying from the shops:-)

  5. Oh dear maybe Finland is not the place for me… I am not a seafood eater. I may starve 😉

    1. cocoaupnorth says:

      If you eat meat then you will survive perfectly well:-). We eat all kinds of meat here, including reindeer, moose, etc

Leave a Reply

